2014 Pagoda Awards from Andrew Lepley on Vimeo.

Berks Jazz Fest GM John Ernesto honored with Pagoda Award
for Community Leadership and Commitment

From WFMZ 69 News:

John Ernesto was honored with the 2014 Pagoda Award for Community Leadership and Commitment Monday night for his dedication to the Berks COunty community and the arts in the county.

The ceremony, which took place at Building 24 in Wyomissing, began with a jazz performance to honor Ernesto's involvement wih a variety of arts organizations, including The reading Pops, Reading Musical Foundation, the Berks Jazz Fest, and its "Get JazzED" educational program. [watch the broadcast]

Read the award announcement press release

"Ernesto Retirement Song"

Performed by Rick Braun, Chuck Loeb, and the Gerald Veasley Band in honor of
John Ernesto's retirement from his "day job" at the Reading Eagle Company after 49 years

Courtesy of Berks Jazz Fest photographer Andrew Lepley

What are the Pagoda Awards?

The Pagoda Awards honor Berks Countians who have exceptionally impacted the arts in our community in three categories: Excellence in the Arts, Patron of the Arts, and Community Leadership and Commitment.

Honorees are selected based on the following criteria for each award category:

Excellence in the Arts:  Recognizes  an individual  artist whose personal accomplishments and achievements in his or her artistic discipline exemplify excellence of the arts in Berks County

Patron of the Arts:Recognizes an individual, corporation, or foundation whose philanthropy has helped cultivate and support the arts in Berks County.

Community Leadership and Commitment:  Recognizes an individual whose volunteer leadership efforts champion and promote the arts in Berks County.

Past Recipients

1993 - Gertrude Sternbergh
1994 - Wesley Fisher
1995 - Jack Coggins
1996 - Bruce & Betty Lou McLean
1997 - Elain Bertolet
1998 - Sidney Rothstein
1999 - J. Carl Borelli
2000 - Douglas P. Fisher
2001 - Thomas B. Souders, M.D.
2002 - Sandi McCarthy
2003 - Ed & Carol Butler
2004 - Albert Boscov
2005 - Lois & Irvin Cohen, Al Leader, Gene Burkhart
2006 - Marlin & Regina "Ginger" Miller, Michael Constantine, James Carroll
2007 - Jeffrey Lentz, Carolyn and Jerry Holleran, Will Dexter
2008 - Fredrick Toone Bacon, Angelo DiMaria, James Yocum
2011 - Matthew Daub, William G. Koch, Sr., C. Thomas Work
2013 - Bruce and Ruth Anne Bengtson, Cedric Elmer, David Kline [PHOTOS]
Pagoda Awards

Updated 6/11/14